Gravity Spy

 

Christian Garcia

12/20/2016

SNHS

Citizen Science

The project I did was called Gravity spy and I basically was tasked with identifying gravitational waves. I helped by identifying blips and whistles in the LIGO gravitational wave detector; it was difficult at first because some things that I thought looked like blips, actually weren’t blips which would lead me to be more critical about what I though was and wasn’t a blip. I chose this project because I’ve already heard about the gravitational waves being discovered, so I wanted to see how the researchers identified the gravitational waves, plus it had to do with space. After completing my part I felt like I learned something new and interesting.

Website Used:

http://www.zooniverse.org

 

Leave a Reply

