Whales as Individuals

Lynn Satsat

Ms. Doskocil

SNHS

Citizen Science Project

The citizen science project I chose is known as “Whales as Individuals”, by Zooniverse. The project allows people to help identify individual humpback whales. An algorithm is used to identify the patterns in the whales’ tails. The project asks the color of the whale’s tail, and asks the highest points of the tails, as well as the “V”, if it is visible. I chose this project because of my prior citizen science project. In one of my previous citizen project, I had to differentiate several different whale noises. Since I found that project very interesting, I decided to look for other animal related projects and came across another whale project. After completing the project, I still feel as strongly about animals as I always have. https://www.zooniverse.org/projects/tedcheese/whales-as-individuals

Leave a Reply

