People’s Faces

Anahi Ramos
Dec 10, 2015
Citizen Science Project
I was at first extremely confused of what I wanted to do for this project, so the first thing I did was to look up citizen science project examples online. Literally, so many came up, and I actually did more than one because they were so fun to recreate. My favorite one from the three I conducted was age guess. I want to talk about this website because I have never heard of it before, all you do is guess a person’s age and gets points by how close you are! At first I believed this would had been extremely boring, I’m literally just guessing a person’s age, so I researched this website a bit forward. Scientists made this website to research the data set for the human aging body, consisting of many people to guess on. More specified they mentioned “[A] project on human biological and chronological age”. I still was a little sketchy of this project. So I continued reading more and I discovered this simple website collects data on the evolution of the eyes and a certain part of the brain. Apparently, babies are most interested in the human face than anything else, their testing is to see if people still do this. Certain things like expression and even seemingly the processing of a photo can affect the ability to find the certain age of a human. After reading this, I decided to finally give it a try. It was actually so fun, I tried analyzing people’s faces for a straight five minutes, I couldn’t stop laughing. It’s insane how off some of my guesses were. It was extremely fun competing with other science citizens from high school and college. After actually doing it I understood more of what they were speaking of on their website. I felt like I helped these scientist (main ones are Uli Steiner and Dusan Misevic) in their fun experiment. I was extremely fascinated because I actually thought I would get all of them right and once I saw the correct answer I would understand where and why I went wrong. My review for this website is a very fun experiment!
http://www.ageguess.org

Leave a Reply

