Old Weather

Elizabeth Little
Citizen Science Project
I participated in a project called Old Weather that is a part of Zooniverse and their goal is to use transcriptions of mid-19th century ships’ logs in order to improve the knowledge of past environmental conditions. I helped by transcribing and annotating the logs. I chose this project because I have always been interested in the 19th century and their ways of life, these logs allowed me to see what has happened through the eyes of the recorder. I hope that the organization will be able to use this information, no matter how small it may be, to help sailors understand and predict future weather patterns.
 
Leave a Reply

