African Animals

Zach Rawlings

The project I chose involved identifying multiple species in pictures from the Gorongosa National Park. The scientist that track the animals here have collected thousands of pictures, and I was able to assist them by identifying all the species I could see in each picture. I decided to help with this project because I always enjoyed learning about animals in Africa, and how they live their day to day lives and interact with others species. In multiple pictures I saw Baboons and Warthogs occupying the same space with no hostility. Completing this project was actually quite enjoyable because I was able to challenge my previous knowledge of African species, even a couple Humans from time to time. If for some reason I was not able to identify one on the spot, I could look them up and use their features to distinguish them from other species they are often confused with.
http://www.wildcamgorongosa.org/#/classify

Leave a Reply

