Solar Flares

Courtnee Oglesby
December 19, 2015
Citizen Project

There were several categories for me to explore, but tracking solar flares seemed the most interesting. I learned that it takes several days for a flare to erupt and die down. During this project, I was able to track and identify the flares. At first, it was difficult to spot which where flares and which were particles or random debris in space, but as I learned more it became easier. Being able to spot and track solar flares is important because we are able to help the scientists who do this for a living. They spend hours watching for flares and analyzing then, so if I can provide any extra information, they would be have more data to analyze in a short amount of time. I feel like I was able to provide people with assistance after completing this project and that’s all I could ask for.

Leave a Reply

