Chemistry at the Buckeye Elementary School

Denise Peay
Class of 2016
YHS
October 8th, 2014

For this project six science national honors society students went to the Buckeye Elementary school and performed the elephant toothpaste experiment.  For the elephant toothpaste we used three percent and 12 percent hydrogen peroxide.  We mixed each separately with warm water, dawn soap, and yeast.  We did another experiment involving pennies.  In this experiment we let the 7th graders participate.  We put orange juice, lemon juice, and vinegar in separate cups and added salt to each of them.  Then we would place a penny in each solution and see which solution made the penny cleaner.

This project is science because we’re teaching 7th graders who chemistry, which is a science, is involved in these experiments.  We also explained what was happening in each experiment with chemistry terms.  Once this project was done I felt more proud of my knowledge, because I was able to teach other people the concepts that I knew and the science that I learned through my life.  And giving younger people more knowledge made me smile at the end of the day, because I know I am helping spread education, if not through the world, then through Buckeye.  I helped some students become more interested in the science field.

Leave a Reply

